Bioeconomy and Inequalities

Transnational Entanglements and Interdependencies in the Bioenergy Sector Wordle with key concepts of the project: Inequalities, Entanglements, Knowledge, Agriculture, Labor, China, Landnahme, Crisis, Bioeconomy, Postcolonial, Europe, Sustainability, Agrofuels, Future, Eco-feminism Biopolitics, Argentinia, Democracy, Capitalism, Green Economy, Growth, World System, Conflict, Transnational, Bioenergy, labor division, Strucutural change, value chains

The junior research group “Bioeconomy and Inequalities” is funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) and based at the Friedrich-Schiller-University of Jena in Germany. The group aims to provide analyses of the social inequalities connected to the expanding bioenergy sector – a core field of the emerging bioeconomy.

Taking into account emergent changes in labor relations, knowledge production and technology, as well as political decision-making and commercial structures in the transnational bioenergy sector, the project focuses on a number of case studies. It includes case studies that look at developments in countries such as Brazil, Argentina, Indonesia, Malaysia and Germany and are linked with an analysis of the entanglements and interdependences between South America, South-East Asia and Western Europe. Key dimensions of social inequality such as gender, class, and ethnicity are systematically integrated into the research perspective.

 

Project Director: Asst. Prof. Dr. Maria Backhouse

Funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) within the framework of the funding program "Bioeconomy as Societal Change 4+1".


Project Flyer:

English

Português

Español

Bioökonomie und soziale Ungleichheiten

Verflechtungen und Wechselbeziehungen im Bioenergie-Sektor aus transnationaler PerspektiveWortwolke mit Schlüsselbegriffen des Projekts: Ungleichheit, Verflechtungen, Kapitalismus, Transnational, Bioökonomie Zukunft, Wertchöpfungsketten, Landfrage, Wissen, Wachstum, China, Ökologie, Wachstum, Postkolonial, Lanmdwirtschaft, Krise, Arbeitsverhältnisse, Landnahme, Brasilien, Arbeitsteilung, Ökofeminismus,Weltsystem, Indonesien, New Materialism, Europa, Nachhaltigkeit, Konflikt, Strukturwandel, Agrosprit, Technik, Argentinien, Demikratie, Biomacht

Die BMBF-geförderte Nachwuchsgruppe „Bioökonomie und soziale Ungleichheiten" ist an der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena angesiedelt und untersucht soziale Ungleichheiten, die mit dem wachsenden Bioenergie-Sektor – einem Kernbereich der entstehenden Bioökonomie –verbunden sind.

Konkret werden diesbezüglich die Veränderungen von Arbeitsverhältnissen, Wissens- und Technologieproduktion, politischen Entscheidungsforen sowie Handelsstrukturen im transnationalisierten Bioenergiesektor in den Blick genommen. Länderfallstudien zu Brasilien, Indonesien und Deutschland werden mit Analysen der Verflechtungen und Wechselbeziehungen zwischen Südamerika, Südostasien und Westeuropa verschränkt. Ungleichheitsdimensionen wie Geschlecht, Klasse und Ethnizität werden dabei systematisch einbezogen.

 

Leitung: Jun.-Prof. Dr. Maria Backhouse

Gefördert mit Mitteln des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung im Rahmen der Fördermaßnahme "Bioökonomie als gesellschaftlicher Wandel 4+1"


Flyer zum Projekt